From Vienna to Mariazell

Via Sacra - in the Footsteps of the Pilgrims


The Via Sacra is traditionally done in 4 or 5 daily stages. The start is in Brunn am Gebirge (south of Vienna) from where it goes towards Heiligenkreuz. There is also a special highlight of the pilgrimage here: the world-famous Cistercian monastery Heiligenkreuz - a spiritual center in the middle of the Vienna Woods for almost 900 years. The path continues through the Mariazell region in the Vienna Woods with the beautiful pilgrimage churches in Hafnerberg, Thenneberg and Altenmarkt - with a short detour, the Klein-Mariazell basilica can also be visited. Via further stations such as Annaberg and Lilienfeld you finally reach the destination of the pilgrimage in Mariazell in Styria.


Use the App

Outdooractive is a free service that allows you to load the entire Via-Sacra onto your mobile phone with one click.

Let the navigation guide you or explore the route in advance.


Hikes for the Family

Historical Hiking Tours