Skip to content

Araburg, Kaumberg

Contact

Araburg, 2572 Kaumberg
+43 2765 282 (Gmd. Kaumberg) +43 2765 / 362 (Burgstüberl)
gemeinde@kaumberg.gv.at

The original castle was built at the end of the The original castle was built at the end of the 12th century. Its builders belonged to the knightly family of the Arbergers. They bore the Aar (= eagle) in their name and coat of arms.
Araburg is therefore called Adlerburg, a name that does justice to this highest castle in Lower Austria at around 800m above sea level. The expansion in stages took place under the Ruckendorfern and the Jörgern until the 17th century.

The Araburg has been owned by the Lilienfeld Abbey since 1625 and was finally in ruins with the Turkish siege in 1683. Today the Araburg is a worthwhile excursion destination for young and old.

In the recently opened castle museum "Szenarium Araburg" you will get exciting insights into the medieval history of the castle.

Explore the Surrounding Gastronomy

Gasthaus zum schwarzen Adler
Gasthaus zum schwarzen Adler

Altenmarkt  6
2571 Altenmarkt

Telefon: 02673 / 22200
Gasthaus zum kl. Semmering
Gasthaus zum kl. Semmering

Hafnerberg 15
2571 Altenmarkt

Telefon: 02673 / 20112
Gasthaus zur Linde
Gasthaus zur Linde

Hafnerberg 11
2571 Altenmarkt

Telefon: 02673 / 2203
Gasthof zur Schmankerlwirtin
Gasthof zur Schmankerlwirtin

St. Corona am Schöpfl 25
2572 St. Corona

Telefon: 02673 / 24544
Stiftstaverne Klein-Mariazell
Stiftstaverne Klein-Mariazell

Klein-Mariazell 3
2571 Altenmarkt

Telefon: +43 2673 24901
Cafe Singraber
Cafe Singraber

Altenmarkt 34
2571 Altenmarkt

Telefon: 02765 / 547
en_USEnglish

Erhalten Sie exklusive Infos!

Tragen Sie sich jetzt in unserem Newsletter ein und erhalten Sie exklusive Updates zu Projekten, Veranstaltungen und noch vielem mehr. Wir werden Ihnen ausschließlich relevante Informationen zusenden.
Sollten Sie Ihre Meinung eines Tages ändern, können Sie sich jederzeit durch einen Link in der E-Mail austragen.

X