There is Always Something Going on

The Mariazell region in the Vienna Woods offers over a rich cultural program all year round. Such as regular events of various kinds in the Kulturbahnhof Thenneberg , church music treasures as part of the festival " Cellensis “ or high-class theater productions on the Hafnerberg.

KULTURBAHNHOF

The train station Altenmarkt - Thenneberg was opened in 1877 and is considered one of the oldest train stations at the Leobersdorfer Bahn. The building was up to the close down of the railway track a place of encounter, a place of exchange, a place of travel, transfer and arrival for almost 130 years. A place with a very special energy, a place that has countless stories to tell. Thanks to a private initiative, the train station has a new purpose today as a location for top-class cultural events under the direction of Matthias Schorn.

More information: www.kultur-bahnhof.eu

CELLENSIS

Cellensis means " Zellerisch “and is borrowed from the old usage for everything related to the former Benedictine monastery of Mariazell in the Vienna Woods. Based on the cultural traditions of the monastery, Cellensis is a series of events that deal with sacred music of Christian tradition by setting thematic priorities. Cellensis is old, traditional and new sacred music, especially of European origin and takes place every year for ten days at the end of October / beginning of November.

More information: www.cellensis.at  

SUMMER THEATER

The inner courtyard of the baroque parsonage or monastery on Hafnerberg offers the dreamlike setting for wonderful events during the summer every year. Every four years the whole village forms a great team and starts producing a large theater production (the next time in 2022), which you simply should not miss.

More information: www.sommertheater-hafnerberg.at

You can find even more events at the official website of the market town of Altenmarkt.

November

05Nov19:3021:00Festival CELLENSIS: Eröffnungskonzert / Eröffnung Schatzkammer Hafnerberg

07Nov15:0016:30Festival CELLENSIS: Kirchenkonzert mit Carola Krebs, Emma Schaffer und Maria E. Müller

13Nov19:3021:30Festival CELLENSIS: Konzert „Findling“

14Nov9:0010:00Festival CELLENSIS: Festivalmesse „Messe pour deux voix égales“

Hikes for the Family

Via Sacra Pilgrimage Route

Hier ist immer etwas los

Die Region Mariazell im Wienerwald bietet über das ganze Jahr ein reichhaltiges kulturelles Programm. Seien es regelmäßige Veranstaltungen verschiedener Art im Kulturbahnhof Thenneberg, kirchenmusikalische Kostbarkeiten im Rahmen des Festivals „Cellensis“ oder hochklassige Theaterproduktionen am Hafnerberg. 

KULTURBAHNHOF

Der Bahnhof Altenmarkt-Thenneberg wurde 1877 eröffnet und gilt als einer der ältesten Bahnhöfe der Leobersdorfer Bahn. Das Gebäude war bis zur Stilllegung der Bahnstrecke fast 130 Jahre lang ein Ort der Begegnung, ein Ort des Austausches, ein Ort des Verreisens, Umsteigens und Ankommens. Ein Ort mit ganz besonderer Energie, ein Ort der unzählige Geschichten zu erzählen hat. Dank einer Privatinitiative hat der Bahnhof heute eine neue Bestimmung als Ort für hochkarätige kulturelle Veranstaltungen unter der Intendanz von Matthias Schorn. 

Nähere Infos: www.kultur-bahnhof.eu

CELLENSIS

Cellensis bedeutet „Zellerisch“ und ist dem alten Sprachgebrauch für alles, was mit dem ehem. Benediktinerstift Mariazell im Wienerwald zusammenhing, entlehnt. Angelehnt an die kulturellen Traditionen des Klosters, ist Cellensis eine Veranstaltungsreihe, die sich durch Setzen thematischer Schwerpunkte mit geistlicher Musik christlicher Tradition auseinandersetzt. Cellensis ist alte, traditionelle und neue geistliche Musik insbesondere europäischen Ursprungs und findet jedes Jahr für zehnt Tage Ende Oktober/Anfang November statt. 

Nähere Infos: www.cellensis.at  

SOMMERTHEATER

Der Innenhof des barocken Pfarrhofs bzw. Klosters am Hafnerberg bietet die traumhafte Kulisse für traumhafte Veranstaltungen während des Sommers jedes Jahr. Alle vier Jahre bildet das ganze Dorf ein großeseTeam und macht sich an die Produktion einer großen Theaterproduktion (das nächste Mal 2022), die man einfach nicht versäumen darf. 

Nähere Infos: www.sommertheater-hafnerberg.at

Noch mehr Veranstaltungen finden Sie auf der offiziellen Website der Marktgemeinde Altenmarkt.

November

05Nov17:0017:00ABGESAGT! Buchpräsentation „Hoffen auf die Ewigkeit – Gründung und Entfaltung des Benediktinerklosters (Klein-) Mariazell im 12. und 13. Jh.“

Wanderungen für die Familie

Via Sacra Wallfahrtsweg

Kirchenführungen