Mariazell is Located in the Vienna Woods ...


and has existed for more than 900 years. Decades before the famous Styrian Mariazell was founded, there was already a monastery of the same name in the southern Vienna Woods.

Originally founded as the "Cell of St. Mary", this once powerful Benedictine monastery later bore the proud name of "Mariazell in Austria". It was not until the 19th century that it became today's “Klein-Mariazell”. We can rightly say today that Mariazell is (also) in the Vienna Woods!

In the course of its history the monastery determined the development of the southern Vienna Woods and the Triestingtal , it played a decisive role and left behind a fascinating cultural and sacred landscape, which to this day is one of the most impressive cultural heritage sites of the country.

It includes no less than seven churches from different eras, ruins, numerous old town houses and impressive evidence of everyday rural culture in the form of old historical courtyards, embedded in a gorgeous natural landscape. 

The new cultural region “Mariazell im Wienerwald” is now being made accessible and presented in its cultural wealth to interested visitors. The association and GesmbH “Mariazell im Wienerwald” are dealing with special challenges to preserve and make accessible the entire existing cultural and natural heritage of the region for present and future generations. that 

The association and non-profit company “Mariazell im Wienerwald” were founded in order to present the rich cultural heritage of the former Benedictine monastery to the public in a contemporary way and to make it accessible to the public. Both are supported by the voluntary commitment of their members and they cooperate intensively in their activities with the responsible state (municipality, state of Lower Austria) and church bodies (parishes, archdiocese of Vienna). 

Support or Cooperation

Find out HERE , how you can support us or actively participate.

History

Immerse yourself in the history and culture of the region, visit numerous additional offers.

 

Current Projects

Mariazell in the Vienna Woods - Cultural Mediation and Marketing
We came to the conclusion that this ensemble of building culture and nature is actually unique and would offer considerable potential for cultural tourism use.
Hafnerberg - Treasury, Facility
The pilgrimage church Hafnerberg historically belongs to the direct sphere of influence of the former Mariazell Benedictine monastery in the Vienna Woods and is therefore part of the region's cultural heritage
Mariazell im Wienerwald – Stiftskeller, Rekonstruktion
For the Mariazell Benedictine monastery in the Vienna Woods, the wine industry was an important branch of the economy . For this reason, a large cellar was built in 1753, which held over 200,000 liters of wine.

Our Supporters

Schatzkammer Hafnerberg - Stifter/Stifterinnen
Stiftskeller - Stifter/Stifterinnen
Stifter/Stifterinnen
Supporting Members

Mariazell liegt im Wienerwald...


… und das schon seit mehr als 900 Jahren. Jahrzehnte, bevor das berühmte steirische Mariazell gegründet wurde, gab es bereits ein Kloster gleichen Namens im südlichen Wienerwald. 

Ursprünglich als „Zelle der heiligen Maria“ gegründet, trug dieses einst mächtige Benediktinerkloster später den stolzen Namen „Mariazell in Österreich“. Erst im 19. Jahrhundert wurde daraus das heutige „Klein-Mariazell“. Mit Recht können wir daher heute noch sagen, dass Mariazell   (auch) im Wienerwald liegt! 

Das Kloster bestimmte im Laufe seiner Geschichte die Entwicklung des südlichen Wienerwaldes und des Triestingtales ganz maßgeblich und hinterließ eine faszinierende Kultur- und Sakrallandschaft, die bis heute zu den beeindruckendsten Kulturerbestätten des Landes gehört. 

Diese umfasst nicht weniger als sieben Kirchen verschiedener Epochen, Ruinen, zahlreiche alte Bürgerhäuser und beeindruckende Zeugnisse bäuerlicher Alltagskultur in Form alter historischer Höfe, eingebettet in eine traumhafte Naturlandschaft. 

In Form der neuen Kulturregion „Mariazell im Wienerwald“ wird dieser kulturelle Reichtum interessierten BesucherInnen nun erschlossen und präsentiert. Die Gesamtheit des vorhandenen Kultur- und Naturerbes der Region für gegenwärtige und künftige Generationen zu bewahren und zugänglich zu machen, stellt besondere Herausforderungen, mit denen sich Verein und GesmbH “Mariazell im Wienerwald” beschäftigen. 

Verein und gemeinnützige GesmbH “Mariazell im Wienerwald” wurden gegründet, um das reiche kulturelle Erbe des ehem. Benediktinerstiftes der Öffentlichkeit zeitgemäß zu präsentieren und zugänglich zu machen. Beide werden durch das ehrenamtliche Engagement ihrer Mitglieder getragen und kooperieren bei ihren Aktivitäten intensiv mit den jeweils zuständigen staatlichen (Gemeinde, Land NÖ) und kirchlichen Stellen (Pfarren, Erzdiözese Wien). 

Unterstützung oder Mitarbeit

Erfahren Sie HIER, wie Sie uns unterstützen oder auch aktiv mitarbeiten können. 

Historisches

Tauchen Sie ein in Geschichte und Kultur der Region, besuchen Sie zahlreiche weiterführende Angebote.

 

Aktuelle Projekte

Mariazell im Wienerwald – Kulturvermittlung und Marketing
Wir kamen zu dem Schluss, dass dieses Ensemble von Baukultur und Natur tatsächlich einzigartig ist und erhebliches Potential für eine kulturtouristische Nutzung bieten würde.
Hafnerberg – Schatzkammer, Einrichtung
Die Wallfahrtskirche Hafnerberg gehört historisch in den unmittelbaren Einflussbereich des ehem. Benediktinerstiftes Mariazell im Wienerwald und ist damit Teil des kulturellen Erbes der Region.
Mariazell im Wienerwald – Stiftskeller, Revitalisierung
Für das Benediktinerkloster Mariazell im Wienerwald war die Weinwirtschaft ein wichtiger Wirtschaftszweig. Aus diesem Grund wurde 1753 ein großer Keller gebaut, der über 200.000 Liter Wein fasste.